Australian Poetry for Pleasure

Recently I started following the National Year of Reading web site  and love2read2012 Tweets and #NYR12 hash tags.

Today I read a tweet from @ozpoems about a blog “An Australian Poem a Day“. Inspired by the National Year of Reading, this site promises to post a poem by an Australian poet each day.

Reading some of these poems reminded me of the joy of reading kids’ poetry out loud. Reciting poems is a great tool for voice training as well as entertaining others. A greater challenge is to memorise poems so you can recite them anywhere.

In the meantime I am going to save my favourite poems in a Word document than make a PDF or ebook to keep on my phone. Then I will have a treasure chest of Australian poetry for reading wherever I go with my phone.

I particularly enjoyed this poem featuring a variety of Australian place names:

Mullimbimby to Bondi Beach  by  J. Andrew Johnstone

Mullumbimby, Moree,
Broken Hill and Karalee.
Broke, Yass, Wollondilly.
Oodnadatta, Lilly Pilly.
Maroubra Bay and Parramatta,
Coffin Bay and Coolangatta.
Bronte Cloe’s, Eubalong,
Tamarama and Cooranbong.
Come by Chance and Chukapook
Coogee, Yuna, Mallacoota,
Toorahweenah, Freeman’s Reach,
And flamin perfect Bondi Beach,
Where the tram shoots through
To take you to
Flamin’ perfect Bondi Beach!


Read the Oz Poem a Day Blog and follow ozpoems on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

