Your Song by Elton John

The single “Your Song” by Elton John was released at the end of 1970 and entered the Australian pop music charts in early 1971 (42 years ago!). It is probably my favourite Elton John song and is  almost perfect in every way – the quintessential pop song/love ballad.  Elton John is one of my favourite singer/songwriter/piano players.

What I enjoy is the instrumentation – piano, bass, strings, harp (appearing later in the song), and percussion.

Listen to Elton performing the song in 1971.

Lyrics

It’s a little bit funny this feeling inside
I’m not one of those who can easily hide
I don’t have much money but boy if I did
I’d buy a big house where we both could live.

If I was a sculptor, but then again, no
Or a man who makes potions in a travelling show
I know it’s not much but it’s the best I can do
My gift is my song and this one’s for you.

And you can tell everybody this is your song
It may be quite simple but now that it’s done
I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words
How wonderful life is while you’re in the world.

I sat on the roof and kicked off the moss
Well a few of the verses well they’ve got me quite cross
But the sun’s been quite kind while I wrote this song
It’s for people like you that keep it turned on.

So excuse me forgetting but these things I do
You see I’ve forgotten if they’re green or they’re blue
Anyway the thing is what I really mean
Yours are the sweetest eyes I’ve ever seen.

Here is a later performance from 2008. Elton’s voice has changed but the song is still magical.

I have the sheet music of “Your Song” and have added it to my collection of piano music to learn this year.

Articles

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cat on March 3, 2012 at 10:17 am

    great song~

    Reply

  2. [...] } Elton John: Donna Summer Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Exclusion ‘A Total Disgrace’Your Song by Elton John var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-31348646-1']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

