My favourite season in Sydney

When I am asked what is my favourite season in Sydney, I choose Autumn (Fall for you North American readers!). Why is this?

Sydney has a temperate climate with warm to hot summers and cool winters never going below freezing point.

Many people like the summer the best for enjoying the beach, swimming and long days. Sydney summers are very humid but can be uncomfortable unless you relaxing at  the beach or swimming pool.

My favourite season would have to be autumn. By April, the temperatures are starting to lower yet it is possible to enjoy being outside during the day. The early mornings and late afternoons can be cool and refreshing and provide a pleasant contrast to the midday sun and warmth.

April is the month with the most public holidays with Good Friday and Easter Monday as well as Anzac Day on the 25th April. When I was at school and university, I usually had holiday breaks in April or early May. This year I took a holiday break after Easter and enjoyed warm sunny days . In my ten day break there were only a few days of rain. After I returned to work I enjoyed my lunchtime walks and sitting at an outside cafe enjoying a cappucino with a friend.

What is your favourite season and why?

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by cat on April 21, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    I think I like spring, new start for plants and everything. If you have gone to honkers in summer time, then surely you will not think that sydney summers are very humid anymore~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

