Typing Korean on Windows (Hangeul 한글)

In my previous article I wrote about how I was learning to read Korean. The next challenge of course is to learn how to type Korean letters using the English “Qwerty” Keyboard.

I use a computer running Windows XP and fortunately it is very easy to set up the Korean language. This article shows you how to type Korean on Windows.

Learn the keyboard associations.

Since there are only 14 consonants and 10 vowels in Korean, each letter corresponds to an English key:

There is logic in this setup. The consonants are on the left and vowels on the right hand side. Double letters are entered using the shift key.

What is the best way to memorise these? I suppose you could memorise the chart but I made some stickers for my keyboard. Eventually I will be able to remove the stickers once I have memorised the locations.

Here are the instructions to setting up the Korean input system on Windows.  I will update these for Windows 7 later.

Set up the Language option.

1. Open the Regional and Language Options Control Panel.

2.  Click the Languages Tab.

3. Click the Details Button to view Language options.  (Click the image below to see the options).

The Language Bar

The Language Bar is used to choose the Input method of the computer. English is the main language, and now I have Japanese and Korean Input Methods.  I used the control panel to set up shortcuts to choose my language.:

  • English:  Left Alt Key + Shift + 1
  • Korean:  Left Alt Key + Shift + 2
  • Japanese:  Left Alt  Key + Shift + 3

Once I have chosen Korean the language bar looks like:

The A means you can type English text and it will not be converted to  Korean.

Click the A or use the Right Alt Key to toggle Hangeul input. The Language Bar will look like:

Now if I start typing the keys, the appropriate Hangeul letters will be formed. As you type, the syllable blocks are built up, otherwise hit space to start a new word. If I type R, L and A each letter followed by a space I get: ㄱ ㅣ ㅁ. Without the space it becomes 김 arranged correctly.

One response to this post.

  1. [...] Charles Cave « Spicy Korean Cucumber Salad – Oi Muchim (오이 무침) Typing Korean on Windows (Hangeul 한글) [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

