Why you should learn to program in Python

python-logoPython is a scripting language that runs on Windows, Unix, MacOS and a variety of other devices like Raspberry Pi. Python is freely available and suited for a very wide range of tasks – system administration, web programming, databases, calculations and graphical interfaces. I recommend Python to anyone who wants to learn to program. Here’s why:

I started learning Python about 4 years ago when I heard that Google use it extensively. I had learnt Perl in 1997 on Macintosh, then later DOS, and Windows. My employer uses Perl for scripting in our product as well as automating testing, and I wrote many of these programs.

Once I started learning Python from the Learning Python O’Reilly book, I was delighted at the clear syntax and the power of the language. I was familiar with some software packages written by musicians (and not programmers) and I wanted to understand the language.

The syntax of Python is much easier to follow compared to Perl, C, C++ and Java. This means it is faster to learn and be productive. Python scripts are very short because of the richness of the language and the available libraries .

There are plenty of resources available to learn the language including free tutorials on the Python web site, MOOCs, YouTube videos, and many excellent books from O’Reilly and Manning (the Quick Python book). I have heard excellent reports about Code Academy from my friend Sujin Lee in Korea. She is studying music and previously learnt Python to script the Reaper Digital Audio Workstation (I use the Reaper software for music production using  VST software synthesisers).

Python is a good language for non computer-science students and professionals to learn how to think like a computer scientist.

Do try and learn Python!

Further information:

One response to “Why you should learn to program in Python”

  1. I certainly agree on Python, but will hold recommendation on Ruby (Ruby on Rails is a reasonable adjunct for Object Oriented Programming learning). I found Ruby somewhat more “fidly” than Python. There are heaps of free Python code to learn from (Charles has enumerated some good ones to start with). Check GitHub.com for lots of green, open source, projects to learn from once you’ve obtained basic Python skills.

Leave a comment