Why I stopped buying newspapers

When I was still at school we had the Sydney Morning Herald delivered each day and the Sunday Herald. The newspaper was the main source of detailed news and pictures.

We had a radio in our dining area so it was possible to hear the news broadcasts giving us updates of the stories we read in the newspaper. My parents would listen to ABC (Australian Broadcasting Commission) radio with their very professional sounding announcers.

The other source of news was the television, and once again the station of choice was the ABC 7.00pm news. There were other current affairs programs like This Day Tonight hosted by Bill Peach as well as programs from the BBC (British Broadcasting Commission).

A popular activity for train commuters was reading newspapers. When I was a university student I travelled to Sydney University by train. I enjoyed reading on the train (iPods didn’t exist then) and used to buy a weekly newspaper called The National Times. I enjoyed reading these indepth articles analysing current affairs. Now you can read a new version on the web.

Often I cut out articles and pictures from the newspaper and stuck them in scrapbooks. I still have a collection of scrapbooks which I don’t want to throw about because of their nostalgic value to me. Maybe I will scan some of the best pages.

At my first job we had a twenty minute tea break in the company canteen. The senior programmer named Graeme would bring the Sydney Morning Herald newspaper. His habit was to read out articles of interest to the group.

Now I don’t buy newspapers. I check various news web sites each day (Australian, ABC, BBC and Sydney Morning Herald) but only spend about 10 to 15 minutes each day skim reading articles. There are many benefits of not buying newspapers – I save money, paper doesn’t accumulate around the house, online news is current, photos are in colour and video is also available. Newspapers can also be accessed from the around the world and this provides a more global perspective.

I don’t see many people reading newspapers on the train. The Daily Telegraph is popular for sports fans, the Financial Review is an important daily diet for financiers. I prefer to read books on the train and skim read the news at work in my break time or at home.

How much news do I need each day? I don’t think it is necessary to read every article but to skim the main page a couple of times a day to be aware of what is happening in the world. I choose half a dozen articles to read in depth in each day.

How do you get your news? Is the newspaper now extinct?


		
Author: charuzu

I live in Sydney and interests include music, piano playing, technology, cooking, English language, public speaking, Toastmasters, Asian culture (especially Japan and Korea), cinema, personal development, productivity and making friends with people from around the world.

Leave a Reply

