Letting go of old appliances

What happens to your old equipment when you upgrade your VCR, tape deck or DVD player? Maybe you are like me and keep the old appliance because it may come in useful one day.  After all, the device still works but just not as well as what it replaced.

But even when the devices are faulty, I can never bring myself to throw it out, because quite frankly it doesn’t seem right to throw it in the bin and contribute to a landfill problem.

My local council helped me solve the problem by organising a weekend of free computer recycling in early December. This allowed me to dispose of the unwanted machines in an environmentally friendly manner. According to their web page, about one million computers end up in landfill in Australia each year, with the lead, mercury, cadmium and arsenic in these products causing an environmental hazard.

I had an old laptop computer to dispose, two DVD-ROM drives, a scanner, disk drives, keyboards and two fairly new Dell all-in-one scanner/printers which are rubbish. Never buy a Dell printer!  We got these for “free” with a purchase of the laptop, but considering the ink cartridges are almost impossible to buy, I decided to get rid of these pieces of junk.

I packed my “e-waste” into the boot of the car and drove to the designated collection area in West Pymble park. I saw two shipping containers and a small bulldozer. Volunteers unloaded my car and stacked my junk into the shipping containers. As I was leaving I saw the bulldozer being used to smash things up and compact the waste. The big question is where will these containers be sent?

This week I am continuing my decluttering and tidying out my garage and store room. It is a great feeling to clear out the past and travel lightly with minimal unwanted items.

 

Leave a Reply

