Christmas

Today our family celebrated Christmas at my home with a sumptuous feast of roast turkey, vegetables, salads, vegetarian food and Christmas pudding made by my mother. We didn’t go to church services or midnight mass but used the day to get together as a family and enjoy each other’s company.

When I was in my teenage years and early 20’s, our family would travel to Geelong in Victoria where we would celebrate Christmas with my grandparents (my mother’s parents), aunt and uncles and cousin. Usually the Victorian summer was hot and my grandparents would enjoy a nap after lunch.

I enjoy the traditions of Christmas as these are what I have grown up with.  When the girls were at school I enjoyed attending the school carol service. This morning we played Michael Bublé’s Christmas album as well as Aled Jones Christmas Album.

Each year we put up our very small Christmas tree on the fireplace hearth and decorate with a variety of ornaments including handmade items. Look for the King Parrot made of felt in the photograph!

Usually I write Christmas cards and send to relatives interstate as well as friends in Australia and overseas. For various reasons, I didn’t send any cards this year. I am wondering if this tradition is vanishing? If I am going to the trouble of sending a Christmas card, I want to write some news. After all, there is not much point just writing a salutation and name!  The recipient will want to know what you have been doing in the past 12 months. I did receive some cards so I will be responding in the next week. A common practice is to write a “one size fits all” newsletter and include in the card. I find this practice challenging as the message needs to be tailored to the recipient.

In years past I have watched the television broadcast of the Festival of Carols and Lessons service from King’s College Cambridge. When I visited England many years ago I visited this splendid Gothic cathedral.  Look at the video clip below to see the cathedral for yourself and to enjoy the fine singing. The painting behind the altar is The Adoration of the Magi by Rubens.

Author: charuzu

I live in Sydney and interests include music, piano playing, technology, cooking, English language, public speaking, Toastmasters, Asian culture (especially Japan and Korea), cinema, personal development, productivity and making friends with people from around the world.

Leave a Reply

