How I Organize my Digital Photos

It is the last day of 2011 and one of my tasks today has been backing up digital photos from the computer. I thought this would be a good opportunity to give you a summary of how I organize my photos and ensuring they are backed up.

I have a Panasonic Lumix camera as well as an HTC Salsa phone which is effectively my second camera.

My biggest challenge in digital photography is being able to find the photos I take especially when taken a long time ago. This is how I organize the photos on my Dell computer running Windows XP.

Click on the photos to view full size.

1. I created a folder (directory) called C:\Lumix.  This is where the  Lumix  software (Photo Fun Studio) copies the files from the camera’s SD card to the computer.

2. I chose the setting to create folders based on the Recording Day. This means that each day of photography has its own folder.

3. After I transfer photos from the camera I view the contents of the new folders and change the name of the folder adding a keyword to describe the photos. This allows me to quickly identify the folder where photos may be found. For example, 20111220Birthday.

4. If I have photographed more than one unique event I create a subfolder with the name of the event or place.

5. My archive of photos is stored in another folder C:\My_Media\My_Photos. Inside this folder I created folders for each year (2010, 2011, etc). Inside each year folder is a folder for each month – the name consisting of the month number followed by the month name. This ensures the folders sort chronologically.

6. After I back up the Lumix folder I move the directories from Lumix into the appropriate year and monhth folders in My_Photos.

7. I make a DVD backup of my work every 2 weeks and include the Lumix folder as part of the backups.

8. Photos taken on my phone are copied to the Lumix folder to a folder which I create with the name HTC followed by the date, for example HTC20111219. I might as well keep all the digital photos together and treat them as if taken with the same camera.

Now when I want to find photos and movies I can browse my folders by date or view the thumbnails to find the required photograph.

Author: charuzu

I live in Sydney and interests include music, piano playing, technology, cooking, English language, public speaking, Toastmasters, Asian culture (especially Japan and Korea), cinema, personal development, productivity and making friends with people from around the world.

Leave a Reply

