Planning and doing in 2012

I am constantly refining my system for planning my work, identifying the work that needs doing and reviewing the progress. Over the last twelve months my system hasn’t been so effective, so I used my two week holiday break to tidy up and start afresh.

This year I am setting 1 year goals, which are in turn broken down into monthly goals and then weekly goals. I will follow the practice of  Weekly Reviews  (from David Allen’s Getting Things Done system – GTD) and make sure I celebrate my achievements as well as lessons learnt.

It is easy to make New Year resolutions or plans to make major changes in our lives, but eventually the big plan has to be broken down into monthly, weekly and daily chunks.

Today I used a checklist of the various sectors of my life  (Career, Health, Finances, Family, Social, Fun,  Personal Growth, Contribution, Spiritual and Self-Image) to identify my goals and plans in each of these areas.

My planning system (basically a large detailed outline)  shows 30 projects some of which I expect to finish this month, and others will continue to the end of 2012. I am sure I will add new projects during the year so I tagged these projects with @Jan12 in the description. Now when I list my projects I can see which projects were identified at the beginning of the year.Each project has associated tasks and this list is used in my daily planning.

With weekly planning I make a list from my system of what tasks and activities I want to complete in the upcoming week. I will review the past week and make notes of what went well, what didn’t and what did I learn from the past week. How can this learning by utilised?

I will make sure I keep my weekly reports (dated of course!) so I can review as well as being accountable to myself.

Another way of looking at the planning process is to start with a list of my Roles and Responsibilities, and a list of Goals then make long term plans (Year), medium term (monthly) and short term (weekly and daily) lists.

Each day should have an action plan for the day and a means of recording what was done.

2012, here I come!

Leave a Reply

