Goodreads – a community for readers

Goodreads is a social networking web site for people who love reading. I use the site to keep track of what I have read, to record and report progress on my reading and to build my list of “to-read” books.

Just like Facebook you can add “friends” on Goodreads and find out what they are reading. What is interesting is to compare books with your friends to find out which books you have in common on your read and to-read lists.

What I particularly like is to view other people’s comments on books. You don’t need to be friends with them, but you can read their comments.  Click on the images to view full size.

As I read a book I can record my progress and make comments. These can be seen by your Goodreads friends as well as optionally shared on Facebook and Twitter.

There are discussion groups which are like virtual bookclubs. I joined a Should Read Classics group and in December we read Charles Dickens’ Christmas Carol and Hoffmann’s The Nutcracker and the Mouse King. I was able to join in discussions on the web site.

Goodreads encourages reading and I am participating in the 2012 Reading   Challenge. I have set a goal of reading 50 books this year. As I update my books read with the finish date my “badge” is updated.

I hope you are reader, and I would like to invite you to join Goodreads and add me as a reading friend. Click this link to join Goodreads and join the community!

2 thoughts on “Goodreads – a community for readers”

Leave a Reply

