I love my Kindle!

Recently I have been doing a lot of reading on my Kindle ebook reader. I don’t have the very latest model however I am very happy with my trusty black and white model.

I thought I would make a list of the reasons why I love my Kindle.

  • It is easy to carry in my backpack and only weighs 370 grams which is less than a large paperbook. Also, it doesn’t take a lot of space.
  • Inexpensive – $129 for the Kindle which is a lot less than an iPod.
  • The screen is very easy to read and no eyestrain because of the “digital ink” technology. The Kindle can be read in direct sunlight and doesn’t cause glare like an iPad or phone. Because the screen is not backlit it can’t be used in low light situations like an iPad but that doesn’t worry me.
  • A battery charge lasts for about 30 days of daily use.
  • No distractions! When I read, I read because there are no other applications like email or Facebook!
  • The Kindle can be read with one hand and the page forward button pressed with one finger.
  • When I turn it on again, it opens at the page I left off so I can start reading again quickly. No bookmark required.
  • I can carry a lot of books on the 2GB storage so there is no danger of running out of reading. Usually I read one book at a time.
  • Project Gutenberg has a lot of books available for download  in MOBI format
  • The built in dictionary is very useful. Recently I read John Steinbeck’s Grapes of Wrath and there were many words I needed to look up. These related to agriculture and no longer in common use.
  • I can highlight text and type notes. These are saved in a clippings text file which can be easily retrieved via the USB connection.
  • Ebooks can be made in MOBI format using the Calibre  program. This is useful for converting EPUB format. The Kindle can read PDF files but they are tricky to navigate.

The downside

  • No colour – not essential but it would be fun. The new Kindle Fire is colour.
  • A touch interface would be convenient (like an iPad) but the buttons work for me. My friend has a new Kindle touch and I tried it out. Her Kindle is a bit smaller and a lot lighter, but I am not planning to upgrade. I would prefer to get the most out of my black and white model.

Books

I do read books and will continue to borrow library books and enjoy books from my library. Now I prefer to use the Kindle for reading on the train.

Author: charuzu

I live in Sydney and interests include music, piano playing, technology, cooking, English language, public speaking, Toastmasters, Asian culture (especially Japan and Korea), cinema, personal development, productivity and making friends with people from around the world.

3 thoughts on “I love my Kindle!”

  1. Charles

    Thanks for sharing.

    I have been playing with the idea of buying an ereader of some type and have explored a mix.

    But alas still the greatest majority of books I actually read and not available yet in ereader book form.

    The number of Kindle or other ereader formatted books is increasing.

    Can you read pdf formatted books on your Kindle?

  2. PDF files can be read on a Kindle but sometimes I had to change the Kindle to Landscape format to allow a wider page for easier reading but this requires more scrolling.

    The text in an ebook flows to fill the page, but PDFs have a static page layout so unless the text is large and easy to read, the PDF is tricky to read on the Kindle.

Leave a Reply

