Classical Gas – A Guitar Classic

“Classical Gas” is an instrumental musical piece composed by American guitarist and composer, Mason Williams (now aged 73). The song was originally released in 1968 on the album “The Mason Williams Phonograph Record” then released another version in 1970 which is the version I heard on the radio.

I consider this song to be a modern classic. In this article I present the original version and some alternative performances including electric violin.

I never tired of hearing this music.

Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel released a version on his self-titled album. Here is a recording of Tommy playing to a live audience.

And a blistering studio version which left me gob-smacked!

I always enjoy hearing a piece of music adapted by different musicians.

Vanessa Mae released a version around 1995 playing electric violin and accompanied by rock band. Here is a live performance. Don’t be distracted by her glittery short skirt 🙂

Musical scores are available for purchase from Musicnotes.com for about $6. I am going to learn the piano version and I hope I can capture the magic of the original guitar version.

While researching this article I found a version for classical guitar and electric cello. It is quite awesome and I hope you enjoy it.

For more information, please visit the Classical Gas web site.

You may also want to read the Wikipedia entry.

Leave a Reply

