Five things I wish I knew when I was 10 years old

Today’s blog post is a response I gave to a young blogger:

I wish I knew the following when I was 10 years old.

It is a good idea to make friends with a variety of people not just people similar to yourself. This will allow you to experience the diversity of people and different values, interests, priorities and goals.

It is alright to make mistakes and make a fool of yourself when you are learning something new. If people laugh at you, don’t take it personally but laugh with them then learn how to improve. Making mistakes is part of learning. You will improve providing you learn from your mistakes and use them as stepping stones of progress.

Life involves taking risks, so don’t keep following the safe path, but take a risk from time to time. Until you take risks, you are not going to grow and expand your comfort zone.

Perseverence is a highly desirable goal. Don’t give up but stay focused and give your best effort to do whatever you have chosen to do. This could be learning a new skill, finishing a school assignment or tidying your room.

Spend time with people and don’t be shy making new friends. Remember that a stranger is just someone you haven’t met. Get to know a variety of people, male and female. Always treat people well with respect and compassion.

2 thoughts on “Five things I wish I knew when I was 10 years old”

Leave a Reply

