Frida Boccara – French Songstress

This article is about a wonderful French singer named Frida Boccara.

Frida was born in Casablanca, Morocco in 1940 and died in 1996 at the age of 55. In 1969 she represented France in the Eurovision Song Contest and performed “Un jour, un enfant” (One day a child). The song was written by Emile Stern and lyrics by Eddy Marnay, and Frida’s performance shared first place.

I first heard Frida Boccara on record probably in 1983. A friend’s flatmate had a record of Frida Boccara which he was playing at the time I visited. I loved this song and the flatmate lent me the record so I could record on cassette tape.

Recently I acquired a better recording on a 3 CD collection of French songs on an album titled La Vie En France Top 50. I enjoy listening to the song, but I am frustrated by not knowing the meaning of the lyrics!

Google came to the rescue and offered a page with the lyrics and a translation.

Now I have set myself two challenges:

  1. Transcribe the melody and derive the chords so I can play the song on the piano. I need to practice the skill of transcribing a melody and rhythm, and working out the chords. This is a very useful listening skill I need to develop for my music-making and piano playing.
  2. Memorise the lyrics so I can sing along. Memorising a song is a good way to learn a language and build vocabulary. I learnt French at high school for four years until Year 10. I wished I had continued French until Year 12 but that is another story.

I hope you enjoyed Un Jour, Un Enfant. Here is the other song which is on the CD collection – Cent milles chansons (100,000 Songs).

More Information on Frida at Wikipedia.

Maybe my next foreign language song will be one in Mandarin. I already have chosen a song on YouTube!

Author: charuzu

I live in Sydney and interests include music, piano playing, technology, cooking, English language, public speaking, Toastmasters, Asian culture (especially Japan and Korea), cinema, personal development, productivity and making friends with people from around the world.

Leave a Reply

