Jasmine Pearl Tea (Buddha Tears)

I am very fond of Chinese tea and in particular, the flavour of jasmine.

Several years ago, I was introduced by the Cheung family (fro, Hong Kong)  to a type of tea known as “Buddha Tears” or Jasmine Pearl tea.

The dry tea leaves are in the shape of peas and made from green tea hand rolled into “pearls” and scented with jasmine. Mr Cheung was pleased that I liked the tea so much and he gave me some of the tea leaves.

Since then I have been searching for the best flavoured Jasmine Pearl Tea. At the moment my favourite is from China – “Golden Sail” brand imported by the Guangdong Tea company. The tea can be purchased from Chinese supermarkets. I found a good supply in the Mandarin Centre in Chatswood as well as in Hornsby.

I gave up drinking coffee after 4pm, and now I enjoy jasmine tea after dinner.

While preparing this article I realised there are Australian products available. I am going to order from Valley Green Tea

I have tried a sample from T2 tea but I still like the “Golden Sail” brand.

Can you recommend a Jasmine tea for me to try?

3 thoughts on “Jasmine Pearl Tea (Buddha Tears)”

  1. Hi, I’ve recently just tried this tea and really loved it! I’m currently residing in Australia and came across this tea, and was wondering if the Valley Green one from Australia which you said you were going to try were better than the Golden Sail ones?

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

