Tweaking my earphones

My earphones are labelled L and R so  that I know which earphone should go into my right ear, and the which one for the left.

The manufacturers have labelled the earphones but in such a small typeface, that only a teenager with 20/20 vision can read team.

Since I often use my iPod when I am on a walk, and usually without my glasses, I have to guess which way the earphones should be fitted.

I was thinking about how to solve this problem  and decided on a very simple but effective solution.


All I had to was clearly identify the Left ear piece and attach a small piece of electrical tape.  This small enhancement is an example of a tweak – fine-tuning or adjusting a complex system, usually an electronic device. Tweaks are any small modifications intended to improve a system.

Some people may refer to such a change as a hack – a small modification made to a system to improve its operation.  More recently this could also be called a life hack – that solves an everyday problem in a clever or non-obvious way.

Read the Small Print

This is a closeup photo of the earpiece. Perfect vision or a magnifying glass is required to read the small print.

Further Information

More information on Wikipedia about Tweaking and Life Hacking.

Author: charuzu

I live in Sydney and interests include music, piano playing, technology, cooking, English language, public speaking, Toastmasters, Asian culture (especially Japan and Korea), cinema, personal development, productivity and making friends with people from around the world.

Leave a Reply

