Gmail – nearly 8 years of usage

I started using Gmail on the 23rd September 2004 when my friend Stuart sent me an invitation as part of the beta-test program.  Since then I have sent approximately 22,000 items and received many more messages and attachments.

I once archived everything in my Inbox, but now I just leave the messages as they can be easily found. Currently I have 3,051 messages in the Inbox but I have read them all.

My main page tells me my storage is 33% full – “Using 3,484 MB of your 10,264 MB”. That’s 3.5GB of data which Google are storing for me at no charge!

Despite the worries about privacy and Google “reading” my mail, I use Gmail as my personal archive. I can quickly search and retrieve documents sent to my Toastmasters club, photographs, PDF files, and scans of music scores.

Gmail is a quick way to do a backup. All I have to do is send an email to myself and attach the files, usually Word and Excel documents and source code.

Are you a Gmail user? What do you like most about it? What do you dislike?

Author: charuzu

I live in Sydney and interests include music, piano playing, technology, cooking, English language, public speaking, Toastmasters, Asian culture (especially Japan and Korea), cinema, personal development, productivity and making friends with people from around the world.

1 thought on “Gmail – nearly 8 years of usage”

  1. It’s a magnificent service. It’s no charge in the same way as commercial TV is no charge – Google will target you with advertisements that are spookily knowledgeable about you; and their programs will read your email (in an aggregate fashion) to further refine their knowledge of people.

    Some of the recent decline in “old media” newspaper values is the fault of Google and their services. At least old media produce their own content!

Leave a Reply

