Banana and Egg – two new meanings

The English language is constantly evolving especially with new slang words and colloquial expressions.

Last year I heard a speech from a man who was born in Hong Kong and now lives in Australia. He described himself as a banana – “yellow on the outside and white on the inside”.

According to Urban Dictionary, a banana can mean “an Asian person who acts like they are white – Yellow on the outside  and white on the inside”.

A related slang word is egg which has the opposite meaning to banana. An egg is a white person (Caucasian) who is very Asian inside.  Urban Dictionary gives the example of  a white kid who hangs out with all the Asians.

“Why does he always hang out with Asians?”

“Oh, you didn’t know? He’s an egg”.

According to that definition I would describe myself as an egg and proud of it!  My wife is Japanese and I have many Asian friends. I enjoy the diversity of their culture, world views and experience. I value my friendships with people from Japan, China, Hong Kong, Korea, Taiwan, Indonesia, Vietnam and Thailand.

 

3 thoughts on “Banana and Egg – two new meanings”

Leave a Reply

