Silhouettes – Swimming with Dolphins (song)

I like a wide variety of music including classical, rock, folk, musicals, and soundtracks. One genre I really enjoy is a synthpop – music that makes me feel good and happy. This music doesn’t have to be complicated or serious, just downright enjoyable fun.

I stumbled upon this song in my daughter’s music collection. The group is called Swimming with Dolphins and is a  duo  formed in 2008 by Austin Tofte and Adam Young  of Owl City.  The song is titled Silhouettes from the album Ambient Blue  and was released in 2008. Here is the song on YouTube with the lyrics.

The Music

Lyrics

I know you won’t admit this
I am just a silhouette to you
You found comfort with my distance
But you never let me stray out of your view

Who really needs the past
With the allure of something new
So we split apart at last
Went back to places that I knew
Before you

And you never have to see
The light that wraps itself around me
And I never have to know
The faces there
The places you go
(That you go 4x)

When I count by the resistance
I bend in shapes in ways I never knew
So I’ll try to post from my existence
Yeah I’ll stop or start my heart if you ask me to
I’ll stop my heart and then I’ll wait for you

I was sure I never would be sure we were in love
(Although it’s dark and black)
I am sure I never would be sure of love to come
(There is one thing left to hold on to)
After you

And you never have to see
The light that wraps itself around me
And I never have to know
The faces there
The places you go
(That you go 4x)

More information

Listen to more of their music on Last.FM

Leave a Reply

