The awesome iPhone calendar app

Since I made the switch from Android to iPhone I have been learning to use the apps bundled with the phone.  The Calendar app has turned out to be far more useful than I had imagined. And since it is an Apple program it works seamlessly with other apps to make the iPhone a very useful device.

Yesterday, the iPhone proved its worth to get me to a lunchtime meeting of technical writers. I realised that the venue was different but I didn’t know the address. All I had to do was open the Calendar and read the address in the event details. The app interpreted the address as a place name and turned it into a link.  I clicked the link to open the maps application and found my destination of 25 Berry Street.

 

(click the image above to view a larger version)

The beauty of the Calendar is that it brings in information from all my calendars into one interface. I don’t use  iCloud but instead I  have connected to my Gmail/Google  account for personal events, and to my company Exchange server for meetings and other events.  I get reminders about events, and all the information is available in the iPhone.

My next project is creating a Google calendar of Birthdays and Anniversaries so this information is available in the phone.  But did you know the Calendar app also reads birthdays from your Contacts? Total integration!

Author: charuzu

I live in Sydney and interests include music, piano playing, technology, cooking, English language, public speaking, Toastmasters, Asian culture (especially Japan and Korea), cinema, personal development, productivity and making friends with people from around the world.

1 thought on “The awesome iPhone calendar app”

Leave a Reply

