Begin now!

Begin

The best way to get something done is to BEGIN. I saw this photo on Facebook recently and it inspired me to write this article about getting started on my tasks.

Procrastination is something I have battled with for many years. I know what I want to achieve and become, but I struggle to actually do the work. I don’t have a problem with doing the work, it is more a problem with just getting started!

So why can’t I just get started with the task, do it and get it out of the way? I can think of several reasons – lack of interest in the task, distracted by something newer or more interesting, laziness, not sure if I have all the resources or skills to do the task, and occasionally fear of completion!

You know the sayings:

 A Journey of a Thousand Miles begins with one step.

How do you eat an Elephant? One mouthful at a time!

Achieving goals and completing projects is done one step at a time. The hardest part about a lot of tasks is to just get started. But once you have started you have momentum and the energy of moving can carry you forward and keep you going.

Look at your planned tasks for the day and note what you can do to get started on each task.  Don’t worry about how to finish – just focus on getting started.

A good way of getting started is to make commitments to someone else about your habits. This week I have started making commitments to a good supporting friend so I am accountable for doing my tasks.

Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it – attributed to Goethe 

The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing – Walt Disney

The secret of getting ahead is getting started –  Mark Twain

What will you begin next?

 

2 responses to “Begin now!”

  1. Agree so much, Charles!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Hi Charles, my name is Céline. I’m young, pretty good in class but I’m definitely NOT done with procrastination. Your article was great to me. I’m never motivated for a long time for anything and then I just freak out because I didn’t work for example. I love what you wrote because it was honnest, seen by someone who used to be like me and everything was quite true. Thanks for this moment. I’ll try to follow your advice, hoping it will work. But people who do not know what I live just think I am terribly lazy, I think it is worst than it, it is a certain kind of addiction so like drogue or alcohol.

Leave a comment