More wisdom

wisewordsThis is another article in my series of comments on Life’s Little Instruction Book (Volume 2) by H. Jackson Brown. I have selected ten more pieces of advice and added my comments.

Remember that no time spent with your children is ever wasted.  I enjoy spending time with my daughters and make sure that time with them has priority. I believe this time is the basis of a strong family relationship.

Remember that no time is ever wasted that makes two people better friends.  This is similar to  the previous paragraph about spending time with children. Spending time with friends, preferably face to face is  very important.  Of course there are other ways to spend with friends – a phone call, email or chat message.

Don’t waste time trying to appreciate music. you dislike. Spend the time with music you love. I love a huge variety of music and I love exploring new genres, composers and musicians. Good music usually finds me – for example in a film soundtrack.  I evaluate music on its merits. I have been a fan of David Bowie for most of my life butrecently I heard his new album. It was terrible!

If you want to do something and you feel in your bones that it’s the right thing to do, do it. Intuition is often as important as the facts.  Intuition is a strange thing and does not appear to be logical. I think intuition is when the brain works holistically to analyse all the information and feelings about a situation. Making decisions based on intuitiond and a gut-feeling usually works.

You may be fortunate and make a lot of money. But be sure your work involves something that enriches your spirit as well as your bank account. Finding such a profession isn’t easy!  There are many things I love but don’t make money, but this is something you have to discover – your work passion.

Don’t think you can relax your way to happiness. Happiness comes as a result of doing.   Enjoyable and satisfying activities lead to a feeling of worth and enjoyment.  There is no such thing as a “happiness pill”!

Don’t waste time waiting for inspiration. Begin, and inspiration will find you. Staring at a blank page or blank canvas can be overpowering and causing mental block.  The statement “I will start writing (or whatever your activity is) when I get inspiration” is  great when it happens. But if you change it to “I will start writing then I get inspired” you will be more likely to be inspired. Try the timeboxing method – set a timer for 30 minutes then work on the task  with your full attention.

Read more books. Watch less TV.  I read a lot of books and don’t watch television, but I watch movies on DVD. I have learnt far more and been entertained and inspired more from books than television.

Get organised. Know where you are headed. But if something wonderful and unexpected comes along, be flexible enough to follow it.  Being organised is important but not to the point of being obsessed about every minute of the day.  Being organised should allow for flexibility of seizing new opportunities.

Share your knowledge. It’s a way to achieve immortality.  One of the reasons I like writing blog articles.   I enjoy sharing knowledge and experience but not sure if I will achieve immortality!

Further reading

Author: charuzu

I live in Sydney and interests include music, piano playing, technology, cooking, English language, public speaking, Toastmasters, Asian culture (especially Japan and Korea), cinema, personal development, productivity and making friends with people from around the world.

One thought on “More wisdom”

Leave a Reply

