My Dry July – please support me!

31-days-dry_please_support_meThis year I decided to participate in the Dry July challenge – 31 days of abstinence from alcohol.

The main objective of  Dry July is raising money to benefit people dealing with cancer.

The flow-on effect is enjoying the benefits of not drinking alcohol and possibly to start some new health and lifestyles habits.

Please consider making a donation to help people currently dealing with cancer.

I am not a “big drinker” like some fellow Australians – at the pub after work drinking beer or wasting half of the weekend dealing with a hangover. I had fallen into the habit of making a mixed drink several times a week – orange juice with Bacardi or Vodka, and wine and beer over the weekends.

I bravely signed up to Dry July wondering how I would cope  not drinking any alcohol. During the week I was wondering what to drink – orange juice is too sweet and too many calories, so I stuck with water. There were a couple of social occasions and events when I would have loved to have had a beer – the Ignite talk events in the city, a birthday lunch for an old colleague, and a Toastmasters dinner. I drank lemon,  lime and bitters at these events.

Another time my wife was making a lasagne and was going to use some red wine in the cooking. I implored her not to use wine his time as we would then need to drink the wine! She conceded to my request so now we can enjoy wine with meals.

What I learnt from Dry July is that I don’t really need to drink alcohol, but a couple of drinks at a social occasion are fun and enjoyable. We enjoy fine wine and I think a good bottle of wine is great accompaniment to home cooking.

Moderation in all things – as long as you don’t overdo it!

I will continue to enjoy alcohol in moderation on the weekends and be mindful of the quantities I consume.

You can read more about Dry July and donate using this link – Dry July 

2 thoughts on “My Dry July – please support me!”

Leave a Reply

