How I use Instagram as my photo gallery

Instagram

Instagram. Isn’t this some sort of social media thing that young people use to share photos of their food, browsing the latest fashions or posting daring selfies?

I like using Instagram which may come as a surprise to younger readers as I am a Baby Boomer and much older than the typical teenager or 20-something who have naturally embraced this social network.

Instagram is my personal photography gallery – a place where I can showcase my work to the world as well as looking at the photos of others.

What is Instagram? In essence, it is a service for uploading and sharing photos on your phone. You need an account to upload photos and you need the Instagram app to upload photos. It is available for iPhone as well as Android. You can follow other users and people can find you.

Photos

What kind of photos do I share?  Many of my photos are taken on my weekend walks. I photograph autumn colours, trees, flowers, sunsets, and the textures of walls, footpaths and the ground. Often combine my walk with the challenge of observing my world with a photographer’s eye then sharing the photos on Instagram.

squareSquare picture format. I like the square format of the pictures which reminds me of my first camera, the Kodak Instamatic 104. You can see some of the photos in an earlier article about this camera. When I was in my 20’s I bought a second-hand Rolleiflex camera which used a 6 x 6 cm size frame. The square picture format is also the same as Polaroid. Using a square format is an excellent creative challenge to compose a photo instead of the more familiar 3:2 ratio.

filters

Filters. There are many filters to apply to photos and these can be used to enhance the colour and appeal of the photo. I often use filters but I want to enhance the photo and draw attention to the image and my composition instead of a cheesy filter effect. I prefer using a filter for a subtle and tasteful effect.

 

texttag

Descriptions and tags. Each photo needs a description as well as hashtags. These are words prefixed with the # symbol, and are used to make the photo searchable. I have fun with hashtags and try to guess what words will attract new followers.

I can get ideas about hashtags as I start to type the word and see which tags are offered as suggestions. I often click on the hashtag to find other photos on the same theme.

Notifications. After I post a photo I receive notifications from people who like my photo. Usually I look at their photos and then I decided to follow them if I want to see more of their work. This is how I have found many people with pet cockatiels and conures. I often take photos of my daughter’s pet cockatiel and conure. These lovely birds regularly feature in my Instagram gallery

Please follow me on Instagram @ozcaveman. You can also view my photos on the Web at https://www.instagram.com/ozcaveman/  There is no need to have an Instagram account to visit my photo gallery. I hope you enjoy my photographs.

Quick guide to using Instagram

  1. Take a photograph in Instagram or choose a photo from your camera roll.
  2. Choose an appropriate filter (optional)
  3. Adjust  the settings of the photo such as brightness, contrast, highlights, shadows (optional)
  4. Write an appropriate description and include hashtags
  5. Add the location of the photo (optional)
  6. Share the photo on Instagram.  Optionally, select the options to share to Facebook or Twitter.
  7. Later, check the notifications to see who liked the photo. View that person’s photos as well and follow them if their photographs are interesting.
Author: charuzu

I live in Sydney and interests include music, piano playing, technology, cooking, English language, public speaking, Toastmasters, Asian culture (especially Japan and Korea), cinema, personal development, productivity and making friends with people from around the world.

4 thoughts on “How I use Instagram as my photo gallery”

  1. I’ve enjoyed following you on IG, Charles. Love the variety of photos you share, from food to nature. Never too late or too old to jump on the IG bandwagon. I haven’t been on there of late due to work and health issues, but looking to jump back on soon. It is a great place to see how others view the word through images on IG. So many perspectives 🙂

    1. Mabel thank you for your comment on my article. I am pleased to hear you are enjoying my photos. You make a good point that IG shows how we view the world. I hope you get back to good health quickly. Best wishes from Sydney to Melbourne 🙂 Charles

  2. Great article, Charles! You never cease to amaze me with the varied interests you show in your writings. Keep this up! As one of your many followers, I always look forward to something new in your blog.

  3. Also note that many pro photographers I follow strongly suggest using Instagram in addition to an online portfolio; Instagram has gotten some of them as much notice (i.e. clients) as their portfolios have.

Leave a Reply

