Ten Favourite Websites

World Wide Web

I was asked to list my 10 favourite web sites. This is difficult to answer as the World Wide Web is an integral part of my professional and personal life.

I have many favourite and interesting sites so here is a selection of ten sites for your exploration.

Google is the hub of my internet usage with the Google search page as my home screen. I use many of Google’s services including Gmail (Email), Calendar (Scheduling), Google Drive (File Sharing), Google Docs and Google Sheets (web based writing).

Wikipedia. Who needs a set of encyclopedias when there is such a wealth of information on this site?

Toodledo.com  –  Task lists, Notes, Habit Tracking.   I use the ToodleDo app and the web site for managing all my projects, tasks and habit tracking. I pay an annual subscription of $15 for their excellent service.   Read more about ToodleDo in this blog article.

My WordPress blog (this web site) . Of course I created the content for this blog but it is useful for sharing information with other people. Often I write blog posts  to answer someone’s question such as “Why are you learning Korean?”.  I wrote many articles about Toastmasters and public speaking and these are useful resources for mentoring others. Here are the articles in the Toastmasters category of my blog. Blogging means write once then share many times.

YouTube. I don’t watch television but I watch YouTube! YouTube is a wonderful resource of how to guides, useful information and entertainment.  I watch movies, musical performances (classical and popular) and learning Korean videos.  Many people create short videos (around 5 – 7 minutes) and publish regularly.  I want to create these kinds of videos so YouTube will be my publishing platform.

Lifehacker  a wealth of articles about improving and dealing with our lives. Update: I get this site confused with Lifehack.org which also has great articles.

Zen Habits (blog by Leo Babauta) is about “finding simplicity and mindfulness in the daily chaos of our lives. It’s about clearing the clutter so we can focus on what’s important, create something amazing andfind happiness.”

Facebook is my main social media tool which I use on my phone and the computer. A lot of my Facebook time is spent reading news and other articles on the various pages I follow – music, current affairs, humour and English language teaching.

Amazon – I used to buy a lot of books online but I stopped doing that. Now I buy ebooks from Amazon and I learn about free or cheap books from BookBub.

ABC News – Australian Broadcasting Commission. I follow the news on this web site or with the ABC app on my phone. The ABC also offers streaming video of recent TV shows on their iView site.  I recommend the ABC and ABC iView apps.

There are many more web sites I could show so I hope this list of 10 sites introduced you to something new.

Footnote:  I am indebted to Sacha Chua (Living an Awesome Life) as my early inspiration for blogging.

 

Leave a Reply

