Text message abbreviations – which ones do you use?

Message abbreviations

How many of these abbreviations do you use in your messaging? Which abbreviations are not on my list?    TNX M8!

ASAP      as soon as possible

ATM       at the moment

B4           before

BF           boyfriend

BRB        be right back

BTW       By the way

CU          see you

FB           FaceBook

FYI          For your information

GF           Girlfriend

gonna     going to

GR8        Great

HBD       Happy Birthday

HRU       How are you

IG            Instagram

IMO        In my opinion

IMHO     In my humble opinion

L8R         Later

LOL         Laughing out loud

LMAO    Laughing my ass off

OMG      Oh My God! (Oh my gosh)

M8          mate

N             and

NP           No problem

PLS          Please

PPL         People

R             Are

RU          Are You

SBY         Somebody

STH         Something

TBH        To be honest

TL;DR     Too long, didn’t read

TNX        Thanks

TMI        Too much information

TTYL       Talk to you later

U             You

VBG         Very Big grin

wanna   want to

WKND    weekend

WTF        What the F—- ?!

XOXO     Hugs and kisses

 

I used this list in an ESL (English as a Second Language!) lesson.  I made a chart with spaces for the students to guess the abbreviations. I wrote sample messages on the board to prompt them.  Later I handed out the completed list.  Here is the PDF file:  SMS Abbreviation worksheet

Author: charuzu

I live in Sydney and interests include music, piano playing, technology, cooking, English language, public speaking, Toastmasters, Asian culture (especially Japan and Korea), cinema, personal development, productivity and making friends with people from around the world.

2 thoughts on “Text message abbreviations – which ones do you use?”

  1. Quite a lot of information for me who is not fond of using abbreviations in text except ATM and BTW. But it pays to know this modern lingo, thank you , Charles! Maybe I should start using most of these but I will not be comfortable with TNX.

Leave a Reply

